There are two boxes on the dining room table. In one, a vintage tea set, and a random assortment of old mugs.

In the other, which happens to be an El Toro hard and soft taco kit box from Aldi, is a plastic cup full of swizzle sticks, a shower timer, souvenir coasters from New Zealand, a small Thermos, and, the caffettiera.

The caffettiera.

Once more, the caffettiera.

 

Me: Mum, what’s all this stuff in these boxes?

Mum: I’m getting rid of it all!

Me (confused): Why is the caffettiera in here then?

Mum: We never use it, and it only makes one cup of coffee.

Me (bewildered): It makes four cups. It’s a four cup caffettiera. Little cups, espresso cups.

Mum: It’s going.

Me: Dad!

Dad:

 

The caffettiera has now resumed pride of place on the top shelf in my wardrobe.

It’s a well worn-in caffettiera; it’s the caffettiera I was taught how to make Italian coffee in my by Auntie Ianuzza when I was a teenager**.

And now it’s going to accompany me to my next stovetop, and the one after that, and the one after that.

Safe and sound.

 

*Credit to my cuz, Luciano, for inspiring the title of this blog post.

**Apparently, I used to pack the coffee in too tightly which didn’t then allow for the correct level of filtration to occur…

 

2 thoughts on “‘The caffettiera is a cultural icon’*

Leave a Reply

